2014 Miss America is from St Joseph, Michigan

2014 Miss America Nina Davuluri waving right at me

Click here for Japanese text.

The 2014 Miss America is an Indian American.

To me, what’s as important as she is an Indian American is that she is from St. Joseph, Michigan.

St. Joseph is a small town in southwest Michigan with beautiful beaches. It’s become a very popular summer resort over the past decade or so.

St Joe map

I married my American husband in Japan. My husband wanted to come back to the U.S.  St. Joseph was the first town we lived in the U.S.

Tiscornia beach Silver Beach1 Silver Beach2 St Joseph River Downtown2 Downtown

The new Miss America, Nina Davuluri, moved to St. Joseph with her family when she was 10. She graduated from St. Joseph High School.  Hey, I have been to St. Joseph high school a few times to watch the football games!

When we lived there, St. Joseph was a very white town, in start contrast to its twin city, Benton Harbor.

I met the Chinese lady who may have been the only other Asian who lived in St. Joseph at that time. She was married to an American. I was so happy and relieved to see her. I have to admit that I did not like to be the only Asian, the only non-white in town.

I don’t know how happy the Chinese lady was to meet me, though, because Chinese and Japanese are very different – the only things Chinese and Japanese have in common may be that they are both Mongoloid Far East Asians and they both use the Chinese characters (漢字) in writing.

Don’t criticize me, please!  If you are a white or a black and if you had to live in a small town in Japan where everybody else is a Japanese, you would feel just the same way as I did.

So, I don’t know how Ms. Davuluri was feeling when she grew up in St. Joseph where probably she was one of very few Indians.

Maybe she was fine.  Asian Americans who grew up in the U.S. are very different from Asians who grew up in Asia like me. They are very very American.  I am very very Japanese even though I have been living in the U.S. for decades.

*******************************************

Ms. Davulurie performed Bollywood dance in the Miss America contest.  You can see that in YouTube. I feel as if I were watching a TV show in India. Pretty amazing she won the Miss America with dance like that.  America really changed. I can’t imagine she  could have won Miss America 30 years ago with Bollywood dance.

Time keeps changing and people keep changing.

She sure is a great dancer, isn’t she!

*************************************

Lastly – Indians are from Asia, but they look quite different from Chinese, Koreans, and Japanese like myself.  Their facial features and body shapes resemble Europeans.

In fact, Indians have a lot of Caucasian blood in them.

Basically, Indians are dark-skinned Caucasians.

I am totally sure that her Caucasian physical features more or less helped Ms. Davuluri win Miss America.

It’s a big change that an Indian American won Miss America, but if and when a Mongolian-looking woman wins Miss America, that’s when America has really really changed.

DSC_2059BE

By the way, did you know that Asian women Americans find beautiful are different from Asian women Asians find beautiful?

It has been well-known to the Asians.  Somebody created a category “Asian women Westerners like”. You can find it here and there on the internet.

I am not saying Ms. Davuluri is one of them. I think she is beautiful and she seems to have a very good personality, a right personality for a Miss America.

Best wishes to her. I hope she will fulfill her dream of becoming a doctor.

She represented the state of New York, but it will certainly help St. Joseph become more famous and become a more popular summer resort.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nina_Davuluri

http://www.heraldpalladium.com/news/local/memories-of-miss-america/article_43b529f1-1595-51a7-9ee1-d40d93d51e1f.html

About tukusigal

もう長いことミシガンに住んでいる日本人オバさんの、自分なり、それなりのミシガン湖地方見聞記でーす。I am a long-time resident of Michigan. I am here forever. A middle-age Japanese woman. I love Imari porcelain, so my profile photo is an Imari vase which I bought in Imari, Saga, Kyushu, Japan. When I retire (when...?), I reveal my photo - but by then I may be too wrinkled (lo).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2014 Miss America is from St Joseph, Michigan

  1. Pingback: 今度のミスアメリカは、ミシガンのセントジョセフ出身 – 2014 Miss America is from St. Joseph, MI | ミシガン再発見の旅 See more Michigan – 口コミ情報発信ブログ

Leave a Reply

